Release Date: September 2021
In BriteLines, a product can have multiple versions that introduce configuration changes, such as removing a field or item.
Version Mapping is a mechanism that facilitates the transformation process of the risk state to:
- Ensure proper rating for a particular product version.
- Preserve information by mapping removed entities with new entities.
Transforming policy data from one product version to another helps to minimize the amount of manual intervention needed for renewal processing.
Version Mapping instructions:
- Users configuring products in BriteLines will now be required to provide version mapping instructions prior to publishing a new product version.
- Users won’t be allowed to publish product versions without providing version mapping instruction where necessary.
- Facilitates the migration of a policy from one product version to another.
For example, migrating a policy from one effective date to another:
- Allows the user configuring Lines to provide instructions for mapping data when moving between versions.
- Supports jumping multiple product versions at a time.
Note: Not all configuration changes require mapping.
Example: A field label change doesn’t require any data mapping.
Mapping instructions are needed when a new product version introduces new data fields or new options within an existing option selection data field.
A new Version Mapping page has been introduced. This page can be accessed via the navigation links at the top of the left navigation panel.
Version Mapping screen
In the Lines sidebar, the areas that need mapping instructions will be highlighted and display the number of mapping instructions needed.
Note: The Version Mapping screen will only display Products and Risk Types when there is something that needs to be mapped.
Risk types can be expanded to display child data fields that require mapping, and the Data Fields can expand further to display the actual changed entities that need to be mapped.
The Version Mapping screen displays:
Note: See Figure 2 for examples.
- Details of the data fields and data field options that need to be mapped.
- A red minus sign next to a data field or data field option if one of the following is true:
- The data fields or data field option has been deleted.
- The reference name has been changed in the previous version.
- A New Version dropdown list with applicable values for mapping instructions.
On the Version Mapping screen, users can:
- Map deleted data fields to newly created data fields.
- Select Do Not Map, which deletes the data from that field.
- View mapping instructions.
Note: Mapping instructions are read-only and can’t be edited for product versions in Draft status.
Once all of the necessary mapping instructions have been completed, the user can publish the new product version.
Note: If the mapping instructions are incomplete, then the user will receive the following error message when attempting to publish: Cannot publish version with unmapped changes from the previous version.
Validation exists to prevent users from mapping:
- Multiple fields to a single field, resulting in the following error message:
Multiple fields can not be mapped to a single field.
- A single field to multiple fields, resulting in the following error message:
A single field cannot be mapped to multiple fields.
Note: The Mapping column indicates whether or not a data field or data field option is mapped.
- Version Mapping for Items isn’t currently supported.
- Transformation between versions is completely stateless.
Warning: Data loss can occur during the transformation process.
Example: You have V1 and V2 product versions. If you move from V1 to V2 and a field is removed in V2 when moving back from V2 to V1, the old value won’t be restored.
Please direct any questions to customer service and your support teams.