Claim and exposure status

Throughout the claim lifecycle, the status of a claim and the associated exposures will change. Claim statuses are limited to New, Open, Closed, and Reopened. Exposure statuses are limited to Open, Closed, and Reopened. Before you can close a claim, all associated exposures must also be closed.

Claim status workflows

Change claim status from New to Open or Closed

When you first submit a claim or first notice of loss (FNOL), the status of the claim is New. The New status suggests that you’re in the investigation phase and can change information in the Parties, Vehicles, Damaged Properties, and claim file’s Details screen. When the status of a claim is New, you can change its status to Open or Closed.

To change the status of a claim from New to Open:

  1. Select the dropdown list next to New in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Select Open Claim. The system changes the status to Open.

To change the status of a claim from New to Closed:

  1. Select the dropdown list next to New in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Select Close Claim. The system automatically selects the closed reason of Record Only. The system changes the status to Closed.

Change claim status from Open to Closed

When a claim’s status is Open, the only status you can change it to is Closed.

To change the status from Open to Closed:

  1. Select the dropdown next to Open in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Select Close Claim.
    1. If there are open exposures on the claim, the system will display the following message:

      Please close all exposures before closing the claim file.

      Select OK and proceed to close the exposures.

    2. If payments have been made on the claim, the Close claim dialog box will open and prompt you to select a reason for closing the claim: With Pay, Without Pay, Record Only, Denied, Withdrawn. When you select a reason, the system will change the status to Closed.
    3. If payments haven’t been made on the claim, the Close claim dialog box will open and prompt you to select a reason for closing the claim: Without Pay, Record Only, Denied, Withdrawn. When you select a reason, the system will change the status to Closed.

Change claim status from Closed to Reopened

When a claim is closed, the only status you can change it to is Reopened.

To change the status from Closed to Reopened:

  1. Select the dropdown list next to Closed in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Select Reopen claim. The Reopen claim dialog box will open.
  3. From the reason dropdown, select one of the following: Closed by mistake, Additional payments, or Litigation. When you select the reason, the system will change the status to Reopened.

Change claim status from Reopened to Closed

When a claim is reopened, the only status you can change it to is Closed.

To change the status from Reopened to Closed:

  1. Select the dropdown list next to Reopened in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Select Close claim.
    1. If there are open exposures, the system will display the following message:

      Please close all exposures before closing the claim.

      Select OK and proceed to close the exposures.

    2. If payments have been made on the claim, the Close claim dialog box will open and prompt you to select one of the following reasons for closing the claim: With Pay, Without Pay, Record Only, Denied, and Withdrawn. When you select the reason, the system will change the status to Closed.
    3. If payments haven’t been made on the claim, the Close claim dialog box will open and prompt you to select one of the following reasons for closing the claim: Without Pay, Record Only, Denied, and Withdrawn. When you select the reason, the system will change the status to Closed.

Exposure status workflows

 Change exposure status from Open to Closed

When an exposure is open, the only status you can change it to is Closed.

To change the status from Open to Closed:

  1. Select the dropdown list next to Open in the top-right corner of the exposure file’s Details screen, or select the ellipsis in the Actions column of the exposure on the Exposures screen.
  2. Select Close Exposure.
    1. If there are payments in Draft status, the system will display the following message:

      This exposure has at least one payment in Draft status. Please submit or delete these payments before trying to close the exposure.

      Select OK and proceed to submit or delete the payments in Draft status.

    2. If there are open reserves, the system will display the following message:

      There are Open Reserves on this Exposure. Closing this Exposure will Close the Reserves too.

      1. If you select Cancel, the exposure won’t close and the system will display the following message:

        Reserves have not been set to Zero and the exposure has not been closed.

      2. If you select Yes, Close the Exposure, the system will create a reserve transaction to zero the reserves. If payments were made on the reserve, the Close Exposure dialog box will open and prompt you to select a reason for closing the exposure: With Pay, Without Pay, Void/Opened in Error. If there weren’t payments made on the exposure, the Close Exposure dialog box will open and prompt you to select one of the following reasons: Without Pay, Void/Opened in Error. The system will change the status to Closed and the system will display the following message:

        Exposure has been closed.

    3. If there aren’t open reserves, the Close Exposure dialog box will open and prompt you to select one of the following reasons for closure: Without Pay and Void/Opened in Error. The system will change the status to Closed and the system will display the following message:

      Exposure has been closed.

Change exposure status from Closed to Reopened

When an exposure is closed, the only status you can change it to is Reopened.

To change the status from Closed to Reopened:

  1. Select the dropdown list next to Closed in the exposure file’s Details screen, or select the ellipsis in the exposure’s Action column on the Exposures screen.
  2. Select Reopen. The system will change the status to Reopened.

Change exposure status from Reopened to Closed

When an exposure status is reopened, the only status you can change it to is Closed.

To change the status from Reopened to Closed:

  1. Select the dropdown list next to Reopened in the top-right corner of the exposure file’s Details screen, or select the ellipsis in the reopened exposure’s Actions column on the Exposures screen.
  2. Select Close.
    1. If there are currently payments in Draft status, the system will display the following message:

      The exposure has at least one payment in Draft status. Please submit or delete these payments before trying to close the exposure.

      Select OK and proceed to submit or delete the payments.

    2. If there are open reserves, the system will display the following message:

      There are Open Reserves on this Exposure. Closing this Exposure will Close the Reserves too.

      1. If you select Cancel, the system won’t close the exposure and the following message will display:

        Reserves have not been set to Zero and the exposure has not been closed.

      2. If you select Yes, Close the Exposure, the system will create a reserve transaction to zero the reserves. If payments were made on the exposure, the Close Exposure dialog box will open and prompt you to select one of the following reasons for closing the exposure: With Pay, Without Pay, or Void/Opened in Error. If there weren’t payments made, the Close Exposure dialog box will open with the following options: Without Pay or Void/Opened in Error. When you select one, the system will change the status of the exposure to Closed and the system will display the following message:

        Exposure has been closed.

    3. If there aren’t open reserves, the Close Exposure dialog box will open with the following options: Without Pay and Void/Opened in Error. When you select one, the system will change the exposure status to Closed and display the message:

      Exposure has been closed.