Delete a payment

You can delete payments from three locations within BriteCore: the Daily Cash Receipt screen, Payment Log screen, and Accounts Receivable screen of the policy. By default, when you delete a payment, BriteCore will treat the payment and policy like the payment never occurred, which could cause the policy to enter Cancellation Pending, Non-Payment of Premium or could automatically cancel the policy. Due to BriteCore’s default behavior, it’s recommended that you delete payments only from within the Accounts Receivable screen of the individual policy. When you delete payments in the Accounts Receivable screen, you can take appropriate actions to mitigate the risk of causing the policy to enter Cancellation Pending, Non-Payment of Premium or automatically canceling the policy.

Before you delete a payment, it is important to determine the following:

  • That the policy is in force.
  • What the outcome would be if the payment never occurred.

Considerations

Determine if the policy is in force

If a policy has never been issued, BriteCore won’t attempt to cancel the policy when a payment on the policy is deleted.

To determine if the policy is in force:

  1. Search for and access the policy.
  2. In the policy’s header, view the Policy Status. If the Policy Status is Active, the policy is likely in force. If the Policy Status was manually set to Active before the policy was issued, use the below tips to ensure the policy is in force.
    • If the button Commit Revision appears in the policy header, this could indicate that the policy hasn’t been submitted or that an endorsement is pending on the policy. If the policy hasn’t been submitted, the policy isn’t in force, even if the Policy Status is Active. To verify that the policy has been submitted and is in force, use the following tips:
      • If Pending appears in the policy header, above Revision, this indicates that the policy has been submitted, but there is a pending endorsement on the policy.
      • In the Accounts Receivable screen of the policy, if the premium balance on the policy is displayed, the policy has been submitted.
      • If the Policy ID matches the configuration of policy numbers rather than quote numbers, the policy has been submitted. For example, Policy IDs on quotes may start with Q and Policy IDs on policies may start with P.
  3. If the policy is in force, move to Determine what would occur if the payment was never made. If the policy isn’t in force, move to Delete a payment from the Accounts Receivable screen.

Determine what would occur if the payment was never made

When you delete a payment, BriteCore treats the payment and the policy as though the payment was never made. Depending on the Due Date and the Cancel Date on a policy, the policy could automatically enter Cancellation Pending, Non-Payment of Premium, or the policy could automatically be canceled. Before you delete a payment, determine what course of action BriteCore would take.

To determine what would occur if the payment was never made:

  1. Navigate to the Accounts Receivable screen of the policy.
  2. Scroll to the Account History table on the Billing Overview screen.
  3. Locate the invoice(s) that would be outstanding if the payment never occurred.
  4. Select the row(s) of the identified invoice(s) to open the invoice details.
  5. Under Details, note the invoice Due Date and Cancel Date.
  6. Consider today’s date and the Due Date and Cancel Date. If the payment was never made, consider if the policy would enter Cancellation Pending, Non-Payment of Premium or if the policy would automatically cancel.

You can change the Due Date and Cancel Date of an invoice to safely delete a payment without canceling the policy. To learn more about how to change the invoice Due Date and Cancel Date, see Delete payment when the Due Date or Cancel Date has passed.

Delete a payment from the Accounts Receivable screen

When a payment is deleted, BriteCore will treat the payment and policy as though the payment never occurred.

To delete a payment from the Accounts Receivable screen:

  1. Navigate to the Accounts Receivable screen of the policy.
  2. Scroll to the Account History table on the Billing Overview tab.
  3. Locate the payment you want to delete.
  4. Select the row of the identified payment to open the payment details.
  5. Select Void. The Void Payment pop-up window will open with the following message:

    Warning! Voiding this payment will only update accounting data within BriteCore. You’re responsible for crediting funds back to the original payor.

  6. Select Yes to continue voiding the payment. If you select No, you will return to the Billing Overview tab of the Accounts Receivable screen.
  7. Credit the funds back to the original payor.

Delete payment when the Due Date or Cancel Date has passed

By default, BriteCore will send a policy to Cancellation Pending, Non-Payment of Premium if you delete the payment and the Due Date has already passed. If you delete the payment and the Cancel Date has passed, BriteCore will automatically cancel the policy. You can delay this behavior by amending the Due Date and Cancel Date on the outstanding invoice. Use the following steps if you want to change the Due Date and Cancel Date of the invoice, which will delay the policy from entering Cancellation Pending, Non-Payment of Premium or from being canceled. You can also use these steps if you want to cancel the policy on a specific date.

To safely delete a payment when the Due Date or Cancel Date has passed:

  1. Navigate to the Accounts Receivable screen of the policy.
  2. Scroll to the Account History table on the Billing Overview screen.
  3. Locate the outstanding invoice you want to change the Due Date and Cancel Date on.
  4. Select the row of the invoice to open the invoice details.
  5. Select Edit and Reprint. The Edit and Reprint dialog box will open.
  6. In the Due On box, use the date picker to select the new Due Date.

    Note: The Cancel Date will automatically update to reflect the required number of days after the Due Date that a policy can cancel.

  7. Uncheck the Print automatically checkbox.
  8. Select Submit.
  9. In the Account History table, navigate to the payment you want to delete.
  10. Select the row of the payment to open the payment details.
  11. Select Void. The Void pop-up window will open with the following message:

    Warning! Voiding this payment will only update accounting data within BriteCore. You’re responsible for crediting funds back tothe original payor.

  12. Select Yes to continue voiding the payment. If you select No, you will return to the Billing Overview tab of the Accounts Receivable screen.
  13. Credit the funds back to the original payor.

Delete payment from the Daily Cash Receipt screen

If you enter the wrong policy number or amount while adding manual payments in the Daily Cash Receipt screen, you can delete the payment from the Daily Cash Receipt screen. Remember that when you delete a payment, BriteCore treats the payment and associated policy as though the payment never occurred.

To delete a payment from the Daily Cash Receipt screen:

  1. Navigate to Policies > Payments > Daily Cash Receipt.
  2. Locate the payment you want to delete.
  3. Select the red X. The Confirm pop-up window will open with the following message:

    Are you certain you want to remove this payment from the deposit list?

  4. Select OK to continue deleting the payment. If you select Cancel, you will return to the Daily Cash Receipt screen without deleting the payment.

Delete payment from the Payment Log screen

You can delete a payment from the Payment Log screen. Remember that when you delete a payment, BriteCore treats the payment and associated policy as though the payment never occurred.

To delete a payment from the Payment Log screen:

  1. Navigate to Policies > Payments > Payment Log.
  2. Search for and locate the payment you want to delete.
  3. Select the red X. The Confirm pop-up window will open with the following message:

    Warning! Voiding this payment will only update accounting data within BriteCore. You’re responsible for crediting funds back to the original payor. Are you certain you want to void this payment?

  4. Select OK to continue deleting the payment. If you select Cancel, you will return to the Payment Log screen without deleting the payment.

Usage consideration

When you delete a payment, a note is automatically created in the Notes screen of the policy.