Disable user accounts

Administrators can disable a user account regardless of the user’s status. When a user is disabled, the user’s login will be revoked within one minute. Their email, phone number, and status will display in light gray in the Users and Groups table.

Administrators can re-enable disabled user accounts.

Disable a single user

  1. In the BriteCore menu, select Users. You will be directed to the Users section of the Users and Groups screen.
  2. In the Search box, type the user’s name.
  3. Select the name link of the user you want to disable. The Edit User screen will open.
  4. Beneath the user’s name, select Disable. The Disable User dialog box will display with the following message:

    Are you sure you want to disable this user?

  5. Select Yes.

Disable multiple users

  1. In the BriteCore menu, select Users.
  2. Locate the users you want to disable and select the checkboxes next to the users’ names.

Note: You can use the Search box to filter the list of users. However, you must manually clear your search criteria from the Search box before trying to enable or disable users. If you leave search criteria in the Search box when you enable or disable users, BriteCore will enable or disable only the users that met the current search criteria. BriteCore won’t enable or disable users you’ve selected that don’t meet the current search criteria.

  1. On the header row of the Users and Groups table, select … More.
  2. Select Disable user(s). A warning dialog box will open with the following message:

    Are you sure you want to disable <Number of selected users> users?

  3. Select Disable.

Usage considerations

You can’t disable your own user account. If you attempt to disable your user account using the steps above, one of the following will happen:

  • If you’re attempting to disable only your user account, then an error message will appear at the top of the screen that says:

Disabling yourself is not allowed.

  • If you’re attempting to disable your user account along with other users’ accounts, then the Batch Action Failed dialog box will open with the following message:

We’re sorry, but some of the selected users could not be disabled.

    • The username(s) that couldn’t be disabled will appear along with the error message:

      Disabling yourself is not allowed.