Edit a role

In BriteAccess, administrators can edit a role to change what the assigned groups and users can access.

To edit a role:

  1. In the BriteCore menu, select Access.
  2. On the Roles screen, in the Roles list, navigate to and select the role you want to edit.
  3. On the Access Role Setup screen, select Next: Associate Permissions.

    Note: Once a role is added, you can edit only the role name. If you need to change the role mapping reference information, you will need to delete the role and add it again.

  1. On the Assign Access Permissions screen, complete the following steps:
    1. In the Permission list, select the additional permissions you want to add to the role’s access.

      Tip: Use the Search bar to quickly locate the permissions you want to select.

    2. If you select any permissions, at the bottom of the Permission list, select Add Selected Permissions to Assignments. The selected permissions will appear under Selected Access Permissions.
    3. In the Selected Access Permissions list, select any permissions you want to remove from the role’s access.
    4. Once you finish editing the role’s access permissions, select Next: Associate Users.
  2. On the Assign Groups and Users screen, complete the following steps:
    1. In the Groups list, select any additional groups you want to assign to the role.

      Tip: Use the Search bar to quickly locate the groups and users you want to select.

    2. If you select any additional groups, at the bottom of the Groups list, select Add Selected Groups to List. The selected groups will appear under Selected Groups and Users.
    3. In the Users list, select any additional users you want to assign to the role.
    4. If you select any additional users, at the bottom of the Users list, select Add Selected Users to List. The selected users will appear under Selected Groups and Users.
    5. In the Selected Access Permissions list, navigate to any groups or users you want to remove from the role, and then select delete.
    6. Once you finish editing the role’s groups and users, select Next: Review.
  3. On the Review Role screen, review the role’s details, and if everything is correct, select Update Role.

    Note: If you need to make any changes, select Back to get the applicable screen, make the necessary changes, and then resume the process.

You have successfully edited a role.