Establish user roles for BriteClaims

Roles, claim/exposure status, and associated permissions determine what a user can view and access in BriteClaims. Before users can access BriteClaims, you must set up roles, set up users, and include users. When you set up and assign roles to users, you’re automatically assigning role-based permissions to that user. In addition to role-based permissions, BriteClaims also uses role plus claim/exposure status permissions. To learn more about rules and permissions, see Manage rules for BriteClaims and BriteClaims: Permissions overview.

Roles

Roles for users conducting business in BriteClaims are created and managed in BriteAccess. Roles and their associated permissions are configurable and should be established in BriteAccess during implementation. The roles created in BriteAccess will populate the Role dropdown list in the Invite New User dialog box when you add a new user.

If you need to add a new role, contact your BriteCore support team.

Users

Users are the individuals in your company who use the system to conduct business in policies and quotes, business in claims, or administrative duties. Users are added to the system when you invite them. To include your company users:

  1. Navigate to and select Users.
  2. From the Users sidebar, select Invite New User. The Invite New User dialog box will open.
  3. Complete the Invite New User dialog box. See Invite new user for more information.

    Note: As you complete the Invite New User dialog box, you will be prompted to select the Role for the user. This is required field.  The options that populate the Role dropdown list are pulled from the roles created in BriteAccess.

    You also have the option to assign the user to a group, by selecting an option from the Groups dropdown list.  User Groups and User Roles aren’t the same.

After you invite a new user, the user will be added to Contacts, and the user’s information will be pulled into the Information screen for the new contact. The role(s) assigned to the new user will also populate in the Role section of the new contact’s Information screen. With the exception of authentication information, you can maintain information specific to the user’s roles in Contacts.

User roles and user groups

User roles and user groups aren’t the same and they function in different ways.

User roles determine what the user can view and access in BriteClaims. This is determined by permissions associated to the role assigned to the user. User roles are managed in BriteAccess.

User groups determine which users appear as options in the Add <Claim Assistant/Claim Manager/Claim Supervisor/Primary Adjuster> dialog box in the Claim Assignments section of the Parties screen. User groups are managed in Users.

Note: One user can’t hold more than one claim assignment for the same claim.

For example, a user is assigned to more than one User Group: Claim Assistant and Primary Adjuster. If the user already has a claim assignment as Claim Assistant, then the system will automatically remove the user’s name as an option from the claim assignment Primary Adjuster for the same claim.

Add and remove roles from users

When you initially invite a user, you can add the roles associated with that user in the Invite New User dialog box. See the Users section above. If you need to add a role to an existing user, though, you can do that in BriteAccess. You can also remove roles from users in BriteAccess.

Add roles to users

To add a role to a user in BriteAccess:

  1. Select Access.
  2. On the Roles screen, locate the role you want to add to a user and select the role. The Access Role Setup screen will open.
  3. Select Next: Associate Policies at the bottom of the screen. The Assign Access Policies screen will appear.
  4. Select Next: Associate Users.
  5. The Assign Groups and Users screen will appear.
  6. Select the Users tab, and use the Search box to search for the user you want to add the role to.
  7. Select the checkbox of the user and then select Add Selected Users to List.
  8. Select Next: Review. The Review Role screen will appear.
  9. Review changes made and then select Update Role.

Remove roles from users

To remove a role from BriteAccess:

  1. Select Access.
  2. On the Roles screen, locate the role you want to remove from the user, and select the role. The Access Role Setup screen will open.
  3. Select Next: Associate Policies at the bottom of the screen. The Assign Access Policies screen will appear.
  4. Select Next: Associate Users.
  5. The Assign Groups and Users screen will appear.
  6. Under Selected Groups and Users, locate the user that you’re removing the role from. Select delete.
  7. Select Next: Review. The Review Role screen will open.
  8. Review changes made and select Update Role.

Usage considerations

Roles can also be added and removed from contacts in Contacts. When you invite a user, that user is automatically added to Contacts. In Contacts, you can manage roles that aren’t conducting business in your system, such as Named Insured, Additional Insured, Fire Department.

Note: Named Insured‘s will conduct business in BriteApps, not in the client system.

Roles that conduct business in your system, such as the BriteClaims system, though, must be managed in BriteAccess. If you attempt to add a role to or remove a role from an existing or new user in Contacts, the role will be added/removed from the contact information, but it won’t be added/removed from the user.

When you attempt to add a role to a user in Contacts, the following message appears:

This Role has special security implications. If you’re adding this Role to fulfill security needs, please consider doing so through BriteAccess instead.

When you attempt to remove a role from a user in Contacts, the following message appears:

This Role has special security implications. If you’re deleting this Role to fulfill security needs, please consider doing so through BriteAccess instead.