Reinstate policies

In BriteCore, you can reinstate policies with the following policy statuses:

  • Cancellation Pending Non-Payment of Premium
  • Cancelled Policies
  • Expired Policies

You may want to reinstate policy coverage when:

  • It was canceled for non-payment of premium and the insured paid their outstanding debts.
  • It was canceled for underwriting issues and the underwriting issues have been resolved.

Reinstatement settings

In the Reinstatement tab of the Policy Lifecycle screen, you can: 

  • Set the reinstatement fee that’s assessed when a policy is reinstated and/or when an expired policy is reinstated. 
  • Select whether or not to send the Declaration and/or Notice of Reinstatement when a policy is reinstated. 
  • Configure reinstatement reasons, which will appear in the Reinstatement Reason dropdown list when you reinstate an expired policy.

See Policy Lifecycle – Reinstatement settings for more information about these settings.  

Notice of Reinstatement

When you reinstate policies, you can choose whether or not to generate the Notice of Reinstatement. To generate the Notice of Reinstatement, you must enable the Notice of Reinstatement setting under Documents in the Policy Lifecycle – Reinstatement settings

When you reinstate expired policies and you choose to generate the Notice of Reinstatement, you must update the Notice of Reinstatement to include the reinstatement reason and the reinstatement description. To update the Notice of Reinstatement deliverable: 

  1. Navigate to Settings > Deliverables > Mass Deliverables
  2. From the State dropdown list, select the state you’re configuring the Notice of Reinstatement for. 
  3. Locate the Notice of Reinstatement and select the pencil icon. The Mass Deliverable Setup screen will display. 
  4. Select the green + next to Add a Text Area
  5. In the Text Area box, add the {reinstatement_reason} and {reinstatement_description} HTML tags and type any additional text you want to display on the Notice of Reinstatement. The {reinstatement_reason} and {reinstatement_description} HTML tags will populate with information entered for a specific policy when it is reinstated.
  6. Select Save.

Reinstatement permissions

You can restrict user roles from the ability to reinstate expired policies. To restrict a user role from reinstating expired policies: 

  1. Navigate to Settings > System Wide > Permissions
  2. Under Permission Levels, locate the user role you want to restrict and select the pencil icon. 
  3. Select + Add Rule
  4. Navigate to the new rule and in the Rule box, type, britecore/policies/reinstateExpired
  5. Press Enter/Return on your keyboard, or select the rule the populates below the Rule box. 
  6. In the Access column, select None

Reinstate a policy

  1. In the BriteCore menu, select Policies.
  2. On the Policy Search screen, navigate to and select the applicable canceled or expired policy.
  3. Under the Additional Description box, select the Reinstate Policy icon .
  4. In the Reinstate Policy dialog box, complete the following steps:
    1. Select the applicable reinstatement fee option.
    2. In the Reinstatement Reason box, type the reason for reinstatement.
    3. Select OK.

Usage considerations

To reinstate expired policies, you must enable the Allow expired policies to be reinstated setting under Options in the Policy Lifecycle – Expiration settings.