In BriteLines, a product can have multiple versions that introduce configuration changes, such as removing a field or item. Version Mapping is a mechanism that facilitates the transformation process of the risk state to:
- Ensure proper rating for a particular product version.
- Preserve information by mapping removed entities with new entities.
- Users configuring products in BriteLines are required to provide version mapping instructions prior to publishing a new product version.
- Users won’t be allowed to publish product versions without providing version mapping instruction where necessary.
Map product versionsIn the BriteCore menu, select Lines.
- In the Lines of Business list, select the applicable line of business.
- On the Line Overview screen, in the Lines sidebar, select Version Mapping.
- On the Version Mapping screen, you can:
- Map deleted data fields to newly created data fields.
- Select Do Not Map, which deletes the data from that field.
- View mapping instructions.
Note: The Version Mapping screen will only display Products and Risk Types when there is something that needs to be mapped.
Note: Mapping instructions are read-only and can’t be edited for product versions in Draft status.Once all of the necessary mapping instructions have been completed, the user can publish the new product version.
Note: If the mapping instructions are incomplete, then the user will receive the following error message when attempting to publish: Cannot publish version with unmapped changes from the previous version.Validation exists to prevent users from mapping:
- Multiple fields to a single field, resulting in the following error message: Multiple fields can not be mapped to a single field.
- A single field to multiple fields, resulting in the following error message: A single field cannot be mapped to multiple fields.
Note: The Mapping column indicates whether or not a data field or data field option is mapped.
- Version Mapping for Items isn’t currently supported.
- Transformation between versions is completely stateless.
Warning: Data loss can occur during the transformation process.Example: You have V1 and V2 product versions. If you move from V1 to V2 and a field is removed in V2 when moving back from V2 to V1, the old value won’t be restored.